Skip to content

Winston Tong \ Theoretically Chinese [LTMCD 2382]

Theoretically Chinese is the polished 1985 electro album by Winston Tong, the singer and visual artist also known for his work with the group Tuxedomoon. Theoretically Chinese was recorded in 1984 and originally released by Les Disques du Crépuscule. Smoothly produced by former Associate Alan Rankine, it features a stellar supporting cast of post-punk royalty including Jah Wobble (bass), Stephen Morris (drums), Dave Formula (keyboards), Simon Topping (percussion) and Sussan Deyhim (backing vocals).

Much of the album offers rhythmic electronic pop, notably Big Brother, Principles Of Movement and a cover of Marianne Faithfull's classic Broken English. The extended remaster also includes more left-field material, including epic 16 minute soundscape The Hunger, recorded with Japanese musicians in Tokyo, and the previously unreleased Dream Assassins, a collaboration with Nikki Mono.


1. Big Brother
2. Endgame
3. The Quotidian
4. Theoretical China
5. Yellow Peril
6. Broken English
7. No Regrets
8. Reports from the Heart
9. The Principles of Movement
10. The Hunger
11. Broken English (12" Remix)
12. Dream Assassins

Available on CD and download. Booklet features detailed Tong biography as well as archive images.

Theoretically Chinese [LTMCD 2382]


"Highlights shine out with clarity. Broken English is a song that could define the genre - minimalist, impulsive, cool and exciting all at once. The Hunger is grandiose and fascinating, with lots of sample-friendly noises and beats too. Go buy, you nu-sonic archeologists" (Whisperin' and Hollerin', 09/2004)

"A classic electro album, exemplary work" (The Big Takeover, 9/2004)

"Producer Rankine brings shimmering energy to the album that pays off in spades, while The Hunger is a striking tour de force" (All Music Guide, 10/2004)