Skip to content

Thick Pigeon \ Too Crazy Cowboys [LTMCD 2342]

Too Crazy Cowboys is the first album by New York artpop minimalists Thick Pigeon, originally released in October 1984 on Factory Records (Fact 85).

The duo consisted of vocalist Stanton Miranda and composer Carter Burwell, later famous for soundtrack work with the Coen Brothers. After several singles for Les Disques du Crépuscule between 1982 and 1983 (including Subway and Dog) the pair linked up with New Order duo Stephen Morris and Gillian Gilbert for this, their first full length album.

Recorded in Manchester in 1983, the album offers a subtle, sculptured sequence of vignettes, described by one reviewer as "a walk through the civilisation of your soul." Expanded and remastered for CD, Too Crazy Cowboys now includes an update of Sudan, hard-edged electro cuts such as Crime and Hank, and stately Jess + Bart. The album also contains three bonus tracks: two versions of 1984 Factory Benelux single Wheels Over Indian Trails, and rare cut Pope, recorded for a Factory US compilation released in 1987.

Artwork by Lawrence Wiener. Liner notes by Miranda.


1. Troglodytes
2. Sudan
3. Crime
4. Help
5. Fred + Andy
6. Misuse
7. Nuns + Soldiers
8. DB
9. Babcock + Wilcox
10. Jess + Bart
11. Hank
12. Wheels Over Indian Trails (12" Mix)
13. Wheels Over Indian Trails (Dub Mix)
14. Pope

Available on CD and digital (MP3 or FLAC). To order CD please first select correct shipping option (UK, EU or Rest of World) and then click on Add To Cart button below cover image. Digital copies are delivered to customers via link sent by email.

Too Crazy Cowboys [LTMCD 2342]
CD shipping options
MP3 options
FLAC options


"Office favourite!" (Jockey Slut, 05/2003)

"The edgier set, and nearly impossible to date - neither the sparse electronics nor Miranda's deliberately flattened vocals giving anything away. In mood it prefigures the experimentation of early techno" (The Wire, 04/2004)

"The use of studio-generated effects, concussed vocals and techno rhythm are like ghostly suggestions of today's electronica scene, whispered down the decades from a more spartan age" (Uncut, 06/2004)

"Throughout a mood of unsettling drama is present with the excellent Jess + Bart perhaps being their defining moment. Oddly, this album is a considerably less dated affair than many of today's current drop of electro-clash revivalists" (Leonard's Lair, 04/2003)

"Good to hear it again. Do yourself a favour and check this album out forthwith" (Tangents, 04/2003)

"Creates a disquieting, oblique soundworld all of it's own devices" (Whisperin' & Hollerin', 04/2003)