Skip to content

Northern Picture Library \ Postscript [LTMCD 2388]

This remastered compilation gathers together all eight tracks from the 1994 EPs Paris and Blue Dissolve, released on Sarah Records and Vinyl Japan, as well as rare compilation cut Something Good from a The Sound of Music tribute.

There are also three previously unreleased tracks. Snowscene is an outtake from the sessions for Alaska, Ammonia Train was taped for a projected Stars of Heaven tribute album, and Welcome to California is a radical NPL remix of a track by Katmandu (aka Ian Catt of St Etienne).


1. Paris
2. Norfolk Windmills
3. Last September's Farewell Kiss
4. Signs
5. Dear Faraway Friend
6. Here to Stay
7. Untitled 3
8. Breaking
9. Ammonia Train
10. Snowscene
11. Something Good
12. Welcome to California


Postscript [LTMCD 2388]


"On Alaska Bobby Wratten staked an initial claim to more avant territories, but this round-up of EPs and rarities proceeds to more familiar, if slightly spacier, climes, with his customary stately, chiming songs of pallid regret" (Uncut, 01/2006)

"Essentially The Field Mice slimmed down to a threesome, but this change also brought about a more ambient sound which was just as informed by dance music as the quintessential Englishness writ large over the erstwhile band's work. Postscript is a handy round-up of eps and unreleased tracks, abundant with heavenly harmonies and aching guitars. NPL deserve more than just footnote status in Bobby Wratten's prolific career" (Leonard's Lair, 10/2005)

"The pick of these songs are reminiscent of The Field Mice's poppier moments, and are among Wratten's best work" (Exclaim!, 11/2005)