Skip to content

Gina X Performance Voyeur [LTMCD 2447]

Again produced by Zeus B. Held and Martin Homberg, the third Gina X album was originally issued in 1981. Arguably their most consistent long-player, and certainly the most explicit and controversial, standout tracks include IC Code, Babylon Generation and Hypnosis.

The four bonus tracks include a Psychonauts remix of No G.D.M. made for the International DeeJay Gigolos label, two dub versions of No G.D.M. and Nice Mover by producer Steve D'Agostino, and a rare 12" mix of Serge Gainsbourg cover Harley Davidson.

The CD booklet preserves the original artwork from the 1981 vinyl release, as well as detailed liner notes.


1. IC Code
2. Horror Vacui
3. Babylon Generation
4. Kaddish
5. Video Dragueur
6. Hypnosis/Hypnose
7. Pederast Dissection
8. Hom Intern
9. Kiruna
10. No G.D.M. (Psychonauts Mix)
11. No G.D.M. (Lo Voltage Dub Mix)
12. Nice Mover (Lo Voltage Dub Mix)
13. Harley Davidson (100 MPH Mix)

Available on digital (MP3 or FLAC). CD and vinyl now available via Les Disques du Crépuscule. To order simply select correct shipping option and click on Add To Cart button below cover image.

Voyeur [LTMCD 2447]
MP3 options


"Voyeur was a radical response to the more straightforward synth-pop direction of the first two Gina X albums, and is an enjoyable model of innovative club music that feels even more relevant now than ever. And tacked on to the end are some cool new remixes" (Exclaim!, 12/2005)

"Meant to be a self-conscious reaction to X-traordinaire and its perceived poppiness, Voyeur, the final album released under the full Gina X Performance name, is a bit of a mixed bag. On the one hand, the lyrics certainly aim for a return to the cold confrontationalism of the debut - if you're going to call a song Pederast Dissection, one might as well go all out. Meanwhile, having a song about a dying figure 'confessing his sins' when the song is called Kaddish and the lead character is Jewish is a bit curious, to say the least - having the spoken word break about the burial ritual followed by a funky synth solo is unavoidably creepy, which was doubtless the intent. But on the other hand, especially in comparison to the homegrown brutality of DAF, then becoming an unexpected pop sensation in West Germany, Voyeur is often fairly restrained. There's giddy synth pop merriment and slow-paced moodiness throughout, to be sure, but compared to the dramatic, commanding arrangements for Nice Mover and No GDM, songs like Horror Vacui come across as either competent copies or all-too-obvious rewrites. It's not an unattractive combination by any means, and Zeus B. Held's production holds its own, but the group was already hitting a rut. If anything the rhythms work better than the melodies. There is a sense of unexpected futurism throughout, though, in that the prominence of male voices on many choruses suggests what The Human League were about to discover with their commercial breakthroughs. LTM's reissue as expected includes bonus cuts, though all are remixes of tracks not from Voyeur, including, perhaps inevitably, takes on Nice Mover and No GDM" (All Music Guide, 2005)