Skip to content

Benny Profane \ Trapdoor Swing + Dumb Luck Charm [BOUCD 6613]

Formed by Dave Jackson and Becky Stringer from the ashes of lauded Liverpool indie-popsters The Room, Benny Profane went on to explore darker musical territory over the course of two albums released in 1989 and 1990.

Both Trapdoor Swing and Dumb Luck Charm are included on this extended edition. Remastered by drummer/guitarist Joe McKechnie (who also played in The Passage), the CD adds two tracks from the very first Benny Profane demo in 1985, featuring guest Will Sergeant of Echo and the Bunnymen on guitar.

CD booklet features band images and text by Dave Jackson. 75 minutes of music.


1. Man On the Sauce
2. Skateboard to Oblivion
3. Pink Snow
4. Quickdraw McGraw Meets Deadeye Dick
5. A Handful of Nothing
6. Rob a Bank
7. Tear the Web
8. Wall to Wall
9. Stitch That
10. Here Comes the Floor
11. Time Bomb
12. Hey Waste of Space
13. Maureen
14. Beam Me Up
15. Devil Laughing
16. Walk Away Macbeth
17. Ghoul Friend
18. Perfect Girl
19. S.H.C.
20. Everything
21. Vain Profane
22. Credulous As Hell

Available on CD and digital (MP3 or FLAC). To order please first select correct shipping option (UK, EU or Rest of World) and then click on Add To Cart button below cover image. Digital copies are delivered to customers via link sent by email.

Trapdoor Swing + Dumb Luck Charm [BOUCD 6613]
CD shipping options
MP3 options
FLAC options


"They may have taken four years to release their first album Trapdoor Swing, but it was well worth the wait. Both albums stand the test of time and are just as strong as anything that James, the Mighty Lemon Drops or any of the more highly-touted contemporaries were releasing. A very pleasant listen indeed" (Exclaim!, 05/2006)

"Collecting the band's two albums plus a couple of bonus tracks, the reissue of Trapdoor Swing and Dumb Luck Charm shows that Benny Profane was an enjoyable blast of rock & roll that wasn't too far removed from the origins of the group in The Room. The closest point of comparison was unsurprisingly in the vocals, given that Dave Jackson's oftentimes brilliantly strong singing was again at the core, while Becky Stringer continued holding things down on bass. Roping in Joe McKechnie from the collapse of The Passage, first on drums and then also on guitar, added to the strength of the group, and from the start of the disc, with the enjoyable rampage of Man On the Sauce, Peter Baker's organ work adding an even more careening edge to the proceedings, it's clear that The Room's energy at its best hadn't been lost. Further standout songs include the surging roll of A Handful of Nothing (with some great cowboy yodels!), Time Bomb and Beam Me Up. Jackson's detailed liner notes in the reissue cover so many reversals and out-of-their-hands missteps that it's almost surprising anything got released at all beyond a few singles, but the results are worth it and, vocals aside, are often much less country-tinged than either the band's initial start or the later work of Jackson and Stringer in Dead Cowboys would indicate. That said, there's definite love in songs like the Morricone-style rumbling stomp and twang of Pink Snow and the fiddle-based arrangement of Maureen, and if you're going to call a song Quickdraw McGraw Meets Deadeye Dick, what more needs be said? The two bonus tracks on the reissue are enjoyable curio - two of the band's first demos from August 1985, featuring none other than Echo & the Bunnymen's Will Sergeant on guitar" (All Music Guide, 2006)