Skip to content

Kalima \ Night Time Shadows + Singles [LTMCD 2379]

Expanded reissue of the first album by Kalima, originally released by Factory Records in 1986 (Fact 155). Kalima were formed in late 1983 from the ashes of Swamp Children. Purveyors of smooth latin, jazz and funk flavours, Kalima released three albums on Factory between 1986 and 1990, and earned widespread respect for their vaulting ambition and commitment to forms often ignored by the superficial 'New Jazz' movement of the mid 1980s.

During this period, core Kalima members Ann and Tony Quigley, John Kirkham, Chris Manos and Cliff Saffer were joined by almost all of A Certain Ratio: Martin Moscrop, Jeremy Kerr and Andy Connell.

The 9 songs on the original album are joined by 6 additional tracks from the first two Kalima releases: the EP Four Songs from 1985, and their acclaimed cover of the Sarah Vaughan standard The Smiling Hour (1984).


1. Mystic Rhymes
2. After Hours
3. Green Dolphin Street
4. Black Water
5. In Time
6. Father Parts
7. Start the Melody
8. Token Freaky
9. Love Suspended In Time
10. Smiling Hour
11. Flyaway
12. Trickery
13. Land of Dreams
14. Sparkle
15. So Sad

Remastered CD and download, with original Factory artwork.

Night Time Shadows + Singles [LTMCD 2379]


"The kind of stuff you put on for an intimate evening in on a long hot summer night - pleasant and slinky, and blends into the atmosphere nicely" (Sounds, 1986)

"Three essential dance tunes in Trickery, Land of Dreams and Sparkle" (Blues + Soul, 1986)

"Night Time Shadows sees them in nicely reckless form" (Blitz, 1986)

"A bouyant, wiggly thing, tickling summer sensibilities with ridiculous delight" (Melody Maker, 1986)

"Kalima specialise in moody after-hours jazz, with light instrumental touches, cosmopolitan rhythms and a velvety voice" (Record Mirror, 1986)

"An accomplished 45 minutes by any standards" (Sounds, 1986)