Skip to content

The Wake \ Here Comes Everybody + Singles [LTMCD 2332]

Here Comes Everybody is The Wake's second Factory album (Fact 130) from 1985. This extended version includes all eight tracks from the original vinyl album produced at Revolution Studios by Oz, as well as three non-album singles issued by Factory: Talk About the Past (Fac 88), Of the Matter (Fac 113) and Something That No One Else Could Bring (Fac 178). O Pamela has been covered by Nouvelle Vague, and Melancholy Man picked by MGMT for their Late Nite Tales compilation. Sixteen tracks in total, plus original sleeve artwork and liner notes.


1. O Pamela
2. Send Them Away
3. Sail Through
4. Melancholy Man
5. World Of Her Own
6. Torn Calender
7. All I Asked You To Do
8. Here Comes Everybody
9. Talk About the Past (from FAC 88 12")
10. Of the Matter (from FAC 113 7")
11. Gruesome Castle (from FAC 178 12")
12. Pale Spectre (from FAC 178 12")
13. Furious Sea (from FAC 178 12")
14. Plastic Flowers (from FAC 178 12")
15. Everybody Works So Hard (from FAC 88 12")
16. Of the Matter Version (from FAC 113 7")

Available on CD and download. Please note that owing to loss of the original mastertapes the majority of the tracks have been mastered from mint vinyl and re-mastered using CEDAR software.

Here Comes Everybody + Singles [LTMCD 2332]


"Here Comes Everybody holds up as a touchstone for aching, atmospheric synth-pop, all slinky guitars, crispy percussion, textured keyboards and limber bass" (Pitchfork, 06/2012)

"My favourite Wake record for a variety of reasons, and most of those reasons are quite simply delicious songs. The opener O Pamela is a gorgeous hymn. Send Them Away is equally sublime, aching and reaching into the stratosphere" (Tangents, 02/2002)

"Driving compositions with bass-lines that form and direct the melodies. Behind a driving pop beat that teeter's on punk's edge, Caesar's vocals are deep and dark" (Other Music, 03/2002)

"O Pamela is a beautiful pop song that went completely unnoticed at the time. The naive melody and lyrics really got to me" (Nouvelle Vague, 2006)

"The album stands as a pillar of moody synth pop, still bearing passing resemblance to New Order while retaining the bounce of the Postcard label bands and the cavernous production of Closer-era Joy Division, covering it all in some of the heaviest synth wash this side of Klaus Schulze" (Dusted, 04/2012)