Skip to content

Stockholm Monsters \ Alma Mater [LTMCD 2330]

CD and download edition of the Monsters only album, released by Factory (Fact 80) in summer 1984. Boisterous post-punk indiepop produced by Peter Hook of Joy Division/New Order, digitally remastered from the original session tapes. Nine bonus tracks (including singles), full sleevenotes, with the original Trevor Johnson artwork faithfully reproduced.


1. Terror
2. Where I Belong
3. Decalogue
4. Winter
5. Five O'Clock
6. Life's Two Faces
7. Your Uniform
8. Edgar Wallace
9. To Look At Her
10. Something's Got To Give
11. All At Once
12. National Pastime
13. Militia (from FAC 146 12")
14. Kan Kill! (7" version)
15. How Corrupt Is Rough Trade? (7" version)
16. Partylive (from FAC 146 12")
17. Stupid (1987 demo)
18. Your Uniform (not segued)
19. Life's Two Faces (not segued)

Alma Mater [LTMCD 2330]


"Should have been the Monsters' breakout platter. Though it was never released as a single, Where I Belong would indeed have been a natural" (Washington City Paper, 06/2002)

"A band at ease with their abilities to make a telling - and unashamed - pop album... It's steeped in presence, with tracks like Terror (bright and breezy, despite the title), Where I Belong and Winter (check out that growling bassline!) exercises in clear-headed accessibility" (Whisperin' & Hollerin', 04/2002)

"Alma Mater was a triumph, and has for years been up there in my catalogue of the greatest albums ever made - more of their glorious merging of body-shaking, oddly nervous rhythm and soul" (Tangents, 04/2002)

"A powerful record, Alma Mater is atmospheric, bass-heavy and geared to the group's highly melodic and dark poetic wanderings" (Melody Maker, 1984)

"It's a long way from Sweden, but once their horns are in riotous rein and the grinding guitars reach overdrive, the Stockholm Monsters will support the healthy fears of the Factory faithful" (NME, 1984)